Cruisers & Sailing Forums (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f124/)
-   -   Anyone Using Spot Devices??? (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f124/anyone-using-spot-devices-211893.html)

MoonlightSailor 29-12-2018 11:15

Anyone Using Spot Devices???

Hi,

I'm contemplating purchasing a device from www.findmespot.com. Technology has come a long way since we were cruising 6 years ago.

If you're using SPOT, how do you like it?

Since I'm new to the service, is there anyone that wants to refer me so we can both get $30 towards our service?

Thanks!
Matt

Group9 29-12-2018 11:55

Re: Anyone Using Spot Devices???

We've had a Spot II since 2010 (the store we bought our SatPhone from threw it in for free). It is still going strong, and has turned out to be our friends' and family's favorite device. They love getting the updates from it and seeing where we are with the Google Earth link.

MoonlightSailor 29-12-2018 12:19

Well, I think I've found the info that will nix my decision to go with SPOT. There coverage in the Pacific Ocean is JUNK.

I'm researching the Garmin option with their inReach device. Worldwide coverage with those devices.

boatman61 29-12-2018 12:21

Use my Spotgen3 on all my trips.. Owners like to be in touch with my/boat location at the touch of a button with the phone App..
CF'rs like to follow it as well.. see what I do next.. :biggrin:

Group9 29-12-2018 13:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by MoonlightSailor (Post 2790438)
Well, I think I've found the info that will nix my decision to go with SPOT. There coverage in the Pacific Ocean is JUNK.

I'm researching the Garmin option with their inReach device. Worldwide coverage with those devices.

We only used ours in the Gulf of Mexico, Florida, and the Bahamas. It worked great there, I have no idea what their coverage is in the Pacific. You might need an Iridium based platform out there.

StuM 29-12-2018 14:18

Quote: