Cruisers & Sailing Forums (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Plumbing Systems and Fixtures (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f115/)
-   -   Sealand Vacuflush not flushing (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f115/sealand-vacuflush-not-flushing-204821.html)

Gregorys6601 23-07-2018 08:07

Sealand Vacuflush not flushing

Hi all,
I am somewhat new to the boating world and very new to the vacuflush systems. My system has been constantly running. Which, from my reading here is probably an air leak somewhere. Now, the toilet will not flush. Nothing will,go down. The owners manual said the first thing to do was use a plunger. Didnít work.

Any other suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Scott

peghall 23-07-2018 09:20

Re: Sealand Vacuflush not flushing

It may or may not be an air leak or a clog....in fact, may not even be a problem with the toilet, but a blocked holding tank vent that's pressurized the whole system, creating back pressure that won't let anything go down.

I've emailed you the info you requested along with the trouble-shooting guide. If you can't find the solution in any of it, I'll be glad to help you.

--Peggie

Gregorys6601 23-07-2018 10:04

Thanks! I should have mentioned I have a 2nd head and that one flushes just fine.

evm1024 23-07-2018 10:11

The second head is on its own vacuum generator.

First step is to examine the hoses from the head to the tank. You might be able to hear the leak.

Second is to replace the duckbill valves in the vacuum generator. There are 4 and they are sold in kits of 2. (BTW the pump-out pump only uses 2 duckbill valves)

You might as well replace all 6 duckbill valves in your system while you are at it.

Do place some disposable pads under the generators when you open them up..... And wear clothes that you do not mind getting soiled.

Just did this on my system. Expect $22 for a set of 2 valves - Shop around for the best price.

Fuss 23-07-2018 10:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gregorys6601 (Post 2679936)