Cruisers & Sailing Forums (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet. (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f14/connecting-15a-generator-32a-shore-power-inlet-174765.html)

epiic 24-10-2016 19:12

Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
3 Attachment(s)
I would like to connect my Yahama 2000iS to the shore power inlet on my boat.

I have a 2015 Jeanneau SO 409 and for whatever reason, Jeanneau decides to make a proprietary shore power cords rated for 30 amps and a 50amp ship side inlet with a cover label that says "Marinco 32amp 50/60 hz easy lock".

What a complete disaster with no reason for it. :banghead:

I purchased the 15A Male to 50A Female Adapter by Marinco and it did not fit. :rolleyes:

rtoner 24-10-2016 19:25

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
I had a similar issue with my Lagoon. I ended up changing out the easy lock with a more conventional 30 amp /110 volt that I picked up at WestMarine. 32 amp does not seem to connect to anything in the States.

epiic 25-10-2016 04:10

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rtoner (Post 2242542)
I had a similar issue with my Lagoon. I ended up changing out the easy lock with a more conventional 30 amp /110 volt that I picked up at WestMarine. 32 amp does not seem to connect to anything in the States.

If I change out the easy locks, that means I would need to purchase new shore power cords. These cords cost $400ea and I have two of them.

32A adapters must exist somewhere, no?

Sailmonkey 25-10-2016 05:56

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by epiic (Post 2242743)
If I change out the easy locks, that means I would need to purchase new shore power cords. These cords cost $400ea and I have two of them.



32A adapters must exist somewhere, no?


Looks like less than 100 to me

http://greatlakesskipper.com/furrion...FQiNaQodMOkN_Q


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum

rtoner 25-10-2016 07:27

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
When I received my boat it came with some pretty cheap shore power cable that was rigged and had a 30 amp plug installed. I honestly didn't feel like it was good enough so buying new wasn't a hurdle.

One option is to also change out the plugs on your shore power along with the one on the boat. It would potentially save some $$$.

The tricky thing that I ran into was the colors of the wire is not the same in Europe and USA. I had to ohm out them to ensure I didn't mix them up and create a bad scenario.

tomenglander 25-10-2016 09:58

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
I have the exact same problem, I have the European version of the Yamaha ef2000is so the ac receptacle on the Yamaha is the European socket (2 hole).

My shorepower socket on my boat is exactly the same as pictured on yours (32A)

The shore power cable that I already own have goes from the 32A shore power socket on the boat to a 16A socket at my marina in the UK

https://www.yachtshop.co.uk/marinco-...LWMaAuhP8P8HAQ

What I was thinking of doing was to use the adapter linked below and adding it to the end of my existing shorepower cable and then plugging into the Yamaha socket.

Force 4 Mains Hook Up Adaptor - Euro

Could anyone shed any light on whether this solution would work for epic and myself?

Many thanks

Tom

Lancerbye 25-10-2016 09:59

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
What you have is a 32 amp 220volt connector that is not proprietary but found on various European built boats. There is an adaptor for it which won't solve your problem, unless you have a 220 volt generator. I have seen two of these problems just this last summer.

Cadence 25-10-2016 10:39

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
The mismatch is to save you from yourself.

guyrj33 25-10-2016 11:24

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
It looks like you have a european 32 amp 230v connector which is very close if not the same as one of the 50 amp 125 volt connectors, but not the same as the american 50 amp 125 volt connector.
This web page has some useful pictures.
http://www.rebadigarbarino.com/pdf/i...Reba_Cap06.pdf
you'll have to be sure about the input voltage before connecting anything.
I aslo suggest considering the Aber smart plug if you end up changing sockets.

reed1v 25-10-2016 14:14

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
You are out of luck; but that is not bad. Otherwise, great way to start an electrical fire on board.

adlib2 25-10-2016 16:19

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by epiic (Post 2242743)
If I change out the easy locks, that means I would need to purchase new shore power cords. These cords cost $400ea and I have two of them.

32A adapters must exist somewhere, no?

30 amp power cords can be purchased for $80 to $110 for 50ft.

smac999 25-10-2016 18:15

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
what is on the male end of the shore cord? it must be a standard 30a 120v plug? if you are plugging into north american docks. so buy a adapter that goes from your 30a male end to 15 amp plug. and use your existing shore cord.

Pigtail Adapter 30A 125V Locking to 15A 125V Straight Blade with LED Light | Marinco

or if this fits into that boat plug, you can use a lighter 15a extension cord instead of having to use your shore cord. it looks like a normal 30a plug to me.

Cadence 26-10-2016 08:39

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
I don't know? Is European voltage supplied from three phase source? If so using one leg for 120 give or take is fine but combining both legs to increase the available amperage is no no. Out of phase sources don't like each other.

epiic 26-10-2016 17:12

Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sailmonkey (Post 2242810)
Looks like less than 100 to me

Furrion F30C50-SY Yellow 30A 50FT Marine Grade Boat Cordset Power Cord | Great Lakes Skipper


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum

The Marinco shore power cords that were included with my boat have an American 30A on the shore side and 32A European on the ship side.

It cannot be purchased unless ordered from Jeanneau and they sell them for $400.

I decided to end the madness and order up 2 new 30A inlets with new 50' shore power cords. The last thing I need is to be stuck somewhere with a broken shore power cord with no way to replace it quickly.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.