Cruisers & Sailing Forums (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   OpenCPN (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f134/)
-   -   NMEA debug window : changing NMEA datasource (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f134/nmea-debug-window-changing-nmea-datasource-161941.html)

pegase22003 27-02-2016 11:56

NMEA debug window : changing NMEA datasource
 
Hello

Under navigatrix I finally succeed to connect my usb multiplexer to OpenCPN. I sould have read the online manual instead of searching the net for dummy solutions. localhost / GPSD is so easy and fully explained in the documentation. :thumb:

But now, I have those red messages in the debug windows.
GPSD is my mux with AIS and ttyS1 is direct connection from AIS equipment but only for GPS data.

I have to remove duplicate with filters option but how to select the source (GPSD or ttyS1) to keep ? Or maybe in this case it's enough to use priority manager ?

Thanks in advance.

rgleason 27-02-2016 16:01

Re: NMEA debug window : changing NMEA datasource
 
Yes, I think that sounds like a good idea, try priority manager first.
I think there is another way to filter the AIS stream GPS location using
the Incoming and select Ignore Sentences and then list them.

Connections | Official OpenCPN Homepage
http://opencpn.org/ocpn/sites/defaul...onnections.png

I've never done this, so others may know more.
Also take a look at nmeaconverter_pi plugin documentation, it may give you some ideas.

pegase22003 27-02-2016 20:35

Re: NMEA debug window : changing NMEA datasource
 
1 Attachment(s)
looks like picture was missing

rgleason 28-02-2016 07:48

Re: NMEA debug window : changing NMEA datasource
 
Yes the big picture was missing!.
You needed to tell us OS and OpenCPN version first!

Are you using 3.2.2? Nice version, but you need to upgrade I believe as the filters are in the current version 4.2

pegase22003 28-02-2016 09:34

Re: NMEA debug window : changing NMEA datasource
 
I use Navigatrix distribution (navigatrix.net) with OpenCPN 3.2.2

I was used to windows based computers.
But when it definitively crashed, I tried Navigatrix on a brand new "car pc". It's easy to install but I have to learn this new OS. Commands and config are very different.:banghead:

Hopefully OpenCPN user interface is the same.

I already downloaded new distribution with OpenCPN 4. But as I'm not sure of how to do it without losing personnal data, up to now I didn't install the upgrade.
I'll take time to learn how to install a new version under Navigatrix (ubuntu based os)

petter5 28-02-2016 12:11

Re: NMEA debug window : changing NMEA datasource
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pegase22003 (Post 2058686)
I use Navigatrix distribution (navigatrix.net) with OpenCPN 3.2.2

I was used to windows based computers.
But when it definitively crashed, I tried Navigatrix on a brand new "car pc". It's easy to install but I have to learn this new OS. Commands and config are very different.:banghead:

Hopefully OpenCPN user interface is the same.

I already downloaded new distribution with OpenCPN 4. But as I'm not sure of how to do it without losing personnal data, up to now I didn't install the upgrade.
I'll take time to learn how to install a new version under Navigatrix (ubuntu based os)

To update ubuntu based system, type from a terminal window:
Code:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
This might bring you to opencpn 4.0 and not 4.2 since version 4.2 is still yet not present in the official APT source.

pegase22003 29-02-2016 10:44

Re: NMEA debug window : changing NMEA datasource
 
Thanks

I'll try that next time after saling.
Not before to avoid to be nervous before to leave the harbourg :smiling:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:29.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.