Cruisers & Sailing Forums (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Construction, Maintenance & Refit (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f55/)
-   -   Add Powered Copper to Bottom Paint (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f55/add-powered-copper-to-bottom-paint-131539.html)

meridian28 23-08-2014 14:33

Add Powered Copper to Bottom Paint

Since bottom paint continues to have less and less copper, has anyone just added powered copper to a gallon on bottom paint?

Hudson Force 23-08-2014 15:02

Re: Add Powered Copper to Bottom Paint

I believe cupric oxide ( CuO ) is the black powder that is typically the paint additive and cuprous oxide ( Cu2O ) is the red powder. You may be considering just the ground metallic copper, but I don't believe this to be the best choice. I am just making a guess here, I have no background in bottom paint chemistry.

Pete7 23-08-2014 15:23

If it worked I think everyone would be doing it and chandlers the world over would be selling it in little bags.

That said I did try VC Offshore once and only once. The tin comes with a lid containing a little bag of very fine copper which you add to the paint. For me it didn't make any difference and the performance was rubbish. Even worse was nothing else would stick to it the following year so it all had to come off.

If it does work please let us know because a tin of emulsion paint and a bag of copper will cost a lot less than a tin antifoul paint.
Pete

Paul L 23-08-2014 16:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hudson Force (Post 1612382)
I believe cupric oxide ( CuO ) is the black powder that is typically the paint additive and cuprous oxide ( Cu2O ) is the red powder. You may be considering just the ground metallic copper, but I don't believe this to be the best choice. I am just making a guess here, I have no background in bottom paint chemistry.

All the paints have an easily Googled MSDS. You can see the % of cuprous oxide listed.

rwidman 23-08-2014 17:30

Quote: