Cruisers & Sailing Forums (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f117/)
-   -   Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f117/using-an-arch-to-lift-an-an-outboard-107596.html)

georgec 15-07-2013 21:03

Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
I am looking for some ideas on how to easily slide the lifting tackle used to lift an outboard using one of the tubes on an arch. I have attached the lifting tackle to one of the horizontal pipes on the arch and I want to be able to slide the lifting tackle on the arch pipe. The lifting tackle is slid out to position over top of the outboard and then slid back towards the boat to lower the outboard on the bracket on the stern rail. I tried making a loop out of webbing, but once the weight of the engine is on the webbing, it is difficult to slide the engine. I tried waxing the pipe to make it slide more easily but it did not help much.

George

Bash 15-07-2013 21:46

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
A drawing would help.

HopCar 15-07-2013 21:50

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
Sailboat hardware companies like Harken and Schaffer make various size tracks with ball bearing slides to travel on them. How about screwing a piece of this track under the rail and fastening your tackle to the slide? Sort of an upside down traveler system.

georgec 16-07-2013 07:00

I wanted to keep it simple and not add any hardware. I was thinking a soft shackle made from one of the hi tech ropes. I just don't know how easy they would slide.

Panope 16-07-2013 07:58

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
How about something like a snatchblock where the sheave rides on the tube like a trolley. It could be homemade with a cheek on one side only for quick deploy/remove. You just have to find or make a sheave that fits your tube nicely.

Steve

HopCar 16-07-2013 22:05

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
I think you'd have the same problem with the rope that you have with the webbing but you won't know unless you try it.

I like Panope's idea of a snatch block. It's simple to install and cheaper than my track idea.

What diameter is the tube your rig needs to slide on?
How heavy is the outboard?

pbiJim 17-07-2013 22:22

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
How heavy is the outboard & do you have a picture of the arch you plan to use?

pbiJim 18-07-2013 07:40

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
If the outboard isn't too gigantic, maybe you can borrow a hand crank off of a boat trailer? They often just bolt on.

67Therapy 18-07-2013 17:50

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
george,
I've been working on this EXACT same problem...glad you posted.
My plan was to attach a block with a Dynema loop around the tube on the arch. I'm hoping the friction would be manageable.
Here's a link on making the loop: http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ns-106003.html
Edit: I'm also hoping I can actually construct the loop around the tube...
Scott

ohdrinkboy 18-07-2013 18:29

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
how about something to make the tube slippery with the dyneema. maybe lots of dish soap?

Bash 18-07-2013 19:51

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ohdrinkboy (Post 1288403)
how about something to make the tube slippery with the dyneema. maybe lots of dish soap?

This is exactly how people get hurt on boats. You're pulling up the outboard, a wake hits the boat, your hands are soapy, the boat heels....

Do the job right.
Install the right gear.
Figure out the phrase: "Penny wise and pound foolish."

Lifting cranes are really not that expensive.

Do the job right.

pbiJim 18-07-2013 21:49

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
I had misunderstood what you are looking to do. I had thought that you were trying to pull an outboard off of a boat one time to get maintenance work done to it. Now that I'm under the impression that you are looking for a system to move the motor on a regular basis, while you are underway, I've changed my position. I am now on board with Bash. Get proper equipment.

georgec 19-07-2013 01:55

It is a Kato Marine arch. The pipe is 1 1/2" in diameter. The outboard is a 9.9hp. The tube is right over the stern rail outboard mount. I have moved the engine a couple of times, it is not dangerous. Once the engine is lifted, the line for the lifting tackle is cleated off. I just need to slide the lifting tackle from the outside edge of the arch to the inside edge. Maybe 2'.

georgec 19-07-2013 02:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by 67Therapy (Post 1288380)
george,
I've been working on this EXACT same problem...glad you posted.
My plan was to attach a block with a Dynema loop around the tube on the arch. I'm hoping the friction would be manageable.
Here's a link on making the loop: http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ns-106003.html
Edit: I'm also hoping I can actually construct the loop around the tube...
Scott

Thanks for the link, Scott. Please post your results on how easy it slides.

sck5 19-07-2013 02:14

Re: Using an Arch to Lift an An Outboard
 
something like an ATN tacker might work


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:00.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.