Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-05-2016, 20:32   #1

Cat litter use for liveaboards

My fiancé and I will soon be packing up the cat and moving onto the boat. I am new to this life and realize there are certain changes that need to be made for environmental purposes. Is regular clay litter used? What is proper disposal for waste?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
VikingPirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 20:43   #2

Boat: 1987 Cabo Rico 38 #117 (sold) & 2008 Manta 42 #124
Re: Cat litter use for liveaboards

We use plain old non-clumping non-light litter (Tidy Cat brand) for our two cats. The clumping and light versions tend to track around the boat and have the danger of ending up in the bilge.

We usually keep enough on the boat for about 6 weeks. The big brands of litter is available pretty much everywhere. We always save it up in a big bag and dispose of it in the trash.

I suppose you could dump it over the side (without the bag) if you were far away from land and in deep water. Cats poop all over the world so I think its a little alarmist to believe that dumping it in 1000+ feet of water in the middle of nowhere is going to kill all living species on earth.
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 20:50   #3

Thank you!

VikingPirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2016, 05:52   #4

Boat: Solaris Sunstar 36' catamaran

Rumor has it that areas of Boot Key Harbor in the keys get additional holding power due to many years of accumulated kitty litter lol.
Old 21-05-2016, 06:09   #5

Boat: Samson C Mist 32

Cats cab be trained to use the head. Try YouTube.
Steve Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2016, 06:37   #6
cat herder, extreme blacksheep

Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41

gatos del mar, a fb group , deals with all problems and issues cats meet in life at sea.