Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-01-2008, 04:14   #1

Boat: First learning :) but I'll buy one once im ready.
Another stupid question

I'm really new to this " Admirals & Mates " thing , and i dont even really know how to sail yet. All I really know about captain and stuff , is from pirate movies , lol

Would someone be so kind as to explain ?

LBCS
CptnLBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 05:06   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
When my wife and I sail I am clearly the Captain and she will admit it to any one. She however is the Admiral. The Admiral may also be addressed as "First Mate" or "Best Mate" depending on the circumstances. You really won't get far as a captain if the Admiral in unhappy.

The subject of all this has an entire forum section devoted to the pursuit of better crew relations. The good news is learning to sail is a lot easier.
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 05:13   #3

Oh , thanks !

LBCS
Old 15-01-2008, 05:15   #4

Boat: 1974 Challenger 40 Ketch, Holding Pattern
Terms of Endearment

Not everyone will agree with me but for 90% of the cruisers we know...
Admiral is usually the wife/female onboard, a play on rank
Mate is usually another person onboard.
Captain is usually the husband/male onboard.

I am fully aware of the technical meanings but we're just casual approximations anyway...

We tend to have revolving terms based on what job we're presently doing... bilge monkey, galey slave, Watchmaster... we have eschewed the technical for the comical.

By the way...the person calling in the VHF is always Captain, Cap, Skipper, etc. I've never heard anyone use these gender-based terms on any transmission in the US
Holding Pattern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 05:21   #5
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote: