Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2008, 08:24   #1

Boat: Bristol 38.8
Why Not Kerosene?

I'm a Newbie and I've been wondering: why don't more sailboat stoves, heaters etc. use kerosene?

Propane is dangerous. I would never have anything propane in an enclosed space. You'd need a sniffer and you would want to pressure test the system before every use. There are enough other things to worry about on a sailboat.

CNG is better, since lighter than air. But you need to keep it under high presssure in those scuba tanks.

What's wrong with Kerosene? It's odorless, not particularly volatile and provides plenty of heat per cubic foot. It's inexpensive and available everywhere. You could use it for the stove, a cabin heater, a hot water heater, even lighting.

Years ago I owned a ski house in Vermont with a kerosene heater. It was great, and I was able to heat 1200 sq. feet for 10-12 weekends a year for under $100. There was no noise and it was odorless. Easy to light.

Is there some reason why kerosene isn't used more on boats?
Curmudgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 08:52   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
I'm a Newbie and I've been wondering: why don't more sailboat stoves, heaters etc. use kerosene?
It's dirty and has a lower heat value than propane. It isn't odorless unless you have an old building that leaks air and has a decent chimney. CNG is fine but finding it is more like a treasure hunt and is not available most places. Folks around here that use CNG drive 1.5 hours by car to where you can get it refilled and they don't often have exchanges so that makes 2 trips. It works fine but you don't get as much use per tank as propane. It may be lighter than air but it will explode.