Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 21-08-2015, 10:31   #1

Boat: Banner 28
Water storage for the ARC

Hei, I am pretty new to offshore cruising and need to figure out how to store water for 6 people for an atlantic crossing. Does anybody have some advice about how much water (plan on 21 days, be prepared for 35?, 3 liters per person?) and how to store it ? Is there a cheap place to buy 5-10 liter bladders? Thanks in advance for help and advice.
Sandy

Old 21-08-2015, 10:43   #2

Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Re: Water storage for the ARC

3 liters per person per day is abare minimum. most plan for 4liters perperson per day. alot depends on drinking, cooking and water usage habits.

I'd say you probably need 700liters to be safe, and keep a large portion of it in seperate containers like 20litre jerry jugs so you can have options

How are your water tanks setup? do they feed from the bottom of the tank or the top with dip tubes? do your tanks have inspection plates that are accesible?

Old 21-08-2015, 11:12   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422

I would also suggest 4 L per day per person. Not sure how the ARC breaks up the crossing but I would estimate 100 nm per day and allow 25-30% more to allow for breakdowns, delays, no wind, etc.

Bladders are OK. 20-25 Liter plastic jugs are also good. You can store some of these on deck. I would also store plenty of 1 L and 4 L bottles and jugs in any extra space available. In the bilge, under seats, bottom of lockers and any other space that isn't dedicated to other storage.

By the way, are you planning to do the crossing with six people on a Banner 28? Hopefully in a different boat. Six on a boat that size could get a bit crowded.
Old 22-08-2015, 23:26   #4

Boat: Banner 28