Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-04-2008, 11:40   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cruising
Boat: Jeanneau 38 Gin Fizz- Rhosyn Mor
Posts: 331
refrigerating an ice box

On Board Rhosyn Mor we have both a norcold 12v fridge and an ice box. I was thinking of dismantling the norcold, which is in the way and takes up too much space, and using the compressor to refrigerate the ice box. The Norcold has no fan externally so perhaps I need to add a fan? has anyone here done this? if so how did it work?. a new Danfoss is about 700 with evaporator so in the end I might have to buy new. In which case I have a 2 year old 12v Norcold for sale
__________________

__________________
Rhosyn Mor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2008, 14:32   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Check this thread
cruisersforum.com/forums/f115/converting-ice-box-freezer-refrigerator-10805.html
http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...tor-10805.html
__________________

__________________
The Blue Dot Campaign. This Changes Everything.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2008, 16:05   #3
Registered User
 
Delezynski's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aboard Guenevere
Boat: Nor'Sea 27, Guenevere
Posts: 227
Send a message via Skype™ to Delezynski
Rhosyn,

I did exactly what you are talking about. I gutted/converted a Norcold into an old ice box. If you go to my web site (see below), then go to our cruising prep pages and our projects. I put in a number of photos.

The company that made my superinsulation may not be able to do the same now.

After all of this time, our Norcold may be failing. I know it is using more power than it did (when running) when we put it in.

If I was starting from scratch now, I would NOT build it in. What I would do (no matter what) is build a shelf in the galley sized to hold one of the Norcold or Engel units on. That way, when (not if) is goes bad, or they come out with some new super unit that uses on 0.1 Amp to freez 100 Lbs of meat, you can just swap out the old unit.

Hope this helps.

Greg
__________________
Our boat is our bedroom, the world has become our living room.


Greg & Jill Delezynski
Cruising aboard Guenevere
Home Page:www.svguenevere.com
Delezynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2008, 08:14   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cruising
Boat: Jeanneau 38 Gin Fizz- Rhosyn Mor
Posts: 331
THats exactly what I needed , thanks Greg
__________________
Rhosyn Mor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reduce size of ice box gonesail Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 5 06-02-2008 14:06
Stuffing box or re-stuffing the box / dripless Dave in Eugene General Sailing Forum 10 28-12-2007 16:45
Ice box conversion? johneri1 Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 6 23-12-2007 06:54
Converting Ice Box to Freezer/Refrigerator JohnnyC Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 6 01-11-2007 08:39
Mystery Fluid in ice box? Curtis Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 5 19-11-2006 07:32



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.