Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2011, 09:58   #1

Boat: Pearson 365 - 36' - FREE REIN
Bahamas Provisioning

Hi...I am new to the group. I have been cruising Florida for the last 12 years and will be making the first trip to the Bahamas ever by boat this spring! We will be gone 9 weeks. Plan to cross from Angel Fish Creek to Bimini ...then work our way down to Georgetown before heading back. Just wondering if there are any things you would recommend stocking up on that are either too expensive or hard to come by over there. I am vegetarian, so meat is not an issue (I do eat cheese and eggs though) & love to drink my wine! I would appreciate any help or ideas you can offer.
DebSV FREE REIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 10:13   #2

Boat: 38' 1983 Pearson 385 - "Zydeco"
Re: Bahama's provisioning

Hi Deb

My husband generally does the replying here, but I thought I might be able to offer some insight here.

This is our first year cruising, and I brought everything in the world with us. Big mistake. It does look like you are going to the Exumas, but may end up in the Abacos, depending on how you decide to come back.

In the Abacos you can get almost anything you want. There is a new Maxwell's (think a Publix, with prices about 15% higher than in Florida) with a decent produce section. Bread is best purchased at a local bakery as it is fresher (and tastes better!). Water can be easily purchased at any marina here in the Abacos.