Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 02-12-2012, 18:56   #1

Boat: Bayfield 29C
Another pressure cooker question

The answer to this may be buried among other related posts, but I can't find it, so....

What type stove simply won't put out enough heat to properly operate a 4qt. SS pressure cooker? I know there are variables, not looking for a consensus, just opinions. thx

Old 02-12-2012, 19:01   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Morgan 321 - 32'
Re: Another pressure cooker question

I had a pressure cooker while I was cruising. Had an LP stove, no problems. I bet an alcohol stove would have a problem keeping warm enough to get it to work properly, but I have no knowledge of it. I do know that I had trouble on my alcohol stove in my present boat, getting a big pot of water to boil for pasta!

sloopygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 19:32   #3

That's a good test, too, sloopygirl. I expect to be boiling lots of pasta water as well as pressure cooking beans, etc., and my eventual stove will have to do both. If it can, it can do anything else I ask of it. As you might gather, I'm trying to figure out what type stove to avoid as I weigh the pros/cons of any specific used cruisers I might want to purchase. The stove is one item I'll have to live with; the list of inevitable upgrades and additions will see to that.

Thanks for the input.
Old 02-12-2012, 19:42   #4

Boat: Now we need to get her to Louisiana !! she's ours

Hard to beat propane! Lots of stoves out there ! Used and new. They will work anywhere and fuel is avaliable around the world(sometimes a little hard to find LOL) If ya live where it really never gets hot my favorite is a diesel stove with oven !! Gives ya heat, cooking and hot water if ya have coils in the stove !! Tryed acohol once, as said just not hot enough or I did not know how to use it ? Now adays I would never have anything but propane!! Just OUR 2 cents
Old 02-12-2012, 19:49   #5

Boat: Franz Maas 37