Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-05-2018, 10:21   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 144
what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

I cruised last time (3 year ago to the bahamas) with my small garmin with explorer charts. We also used an ipad with garmin blue chart and active captain on it. As well as the explorer chartbooks. This seemed to work great for us.

I am now in the market for a new chartplotter. I notice that the Garmin blue chart won't work any longer.

What is everyone using these days? I could use a new chart plotter, but as we don't cruise but every few years, I don't want to break the bank on a bunch of soon-to-be -obsolete electronics.

TIA

rich
__________________

svJasmine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2018, 10:50   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2018 Seawind 1160 Lite (Nov 2018 deliv.), Prev. 2002 Seawind 1000
Posts: 1,043
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

B&G Zeus plotter with C-map charts. Check to make sure you get the one that is Explorer based. Newest chip is supposed to have active captain on it as well.
__________________

sailjumanji is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2018, 11:13   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Steadman Uhlich's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Crewing All of 2018 Available Globally
Boat: OPB = Available as Crew in 2018
Posts: 5,700
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by svJasmine View Post
I cruised last time (3 year ago to the bahamas) with my small garmin with explorer charts. We also used an ipad with garmin blue chart and active captain on it. As well as the explorer chartbooks. This seemed to work great for us.

I am now in the market for a new chartplotter. I notice that the Garmin blue chart won't work any longer.

What is everyone using these days? I could use a new chart plotter, but as we don't cruise but every few years, I don't want to break the bank on a bunch of soon-to-be -obsolete electronics.

TIA

rich
This may not be the answer you want, but I think it may help you.

Since you don't want to invest in expensive electronics like a chartplotter that may be quickly obsolete, and since you own an iPad, you may find the discussion in these recent threads helpful.

An inexpensive ($4.99) but robustly featured, intuitive, easy to learn and use navigation app that uses free NOAA charts:
iPad Navigation Using SEAiq App (User Reviews)

And this one about Active Captain being discontinued on some devices:
ActiveCaptain discontinued?

And this one which has more comments and alternatives for iPad apps and models and accessories for use while navigating:
IPad for Navigation FAQ 2018

And this post and following ones about using Garmin Blue Charts and Active Captain in 2018:
Garmin Bluechart Mobile Discontinued
__________________
Ahoy All Sailors! Need experienced crew for a passage or delivery in Atlantic, Pacific, Caribbean, Med, PNW, ICW, coastal or across an ocean anytime in 2018? I am available on 24hr notice. See my CF Profile "About Me" page for details. Happy to lend a hand!
Steadman Uhlich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2018, 11:20   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Caribbean
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 578
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

Our Ipad still runs Garmin Blue Charts with Active Captain, ran it 5 minutes ago.


We are in the Bahamas currently using our 4 year old Garmin Fishfinder plotter, apparently the data card can be updated, but best to do online with a fast data connection (back in the USA). We also run Navionics on a Raymarine widescreen plotter, but is not as accurate as the Garmin charts.
Bean Counter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2018, 13:03   #5
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 19,229
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bean Counter View Post
Our Ipad still runs Garmin Blue Charts with Active Captain, ran it 5 minutes ago.


Mine too, but Iím waiting for the next IOS update to kill it.
How many apps have you had say that they wonít work with the new IOS, they need to be updated?
Itís a matter of time.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2018, 13:09   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 144
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

I bought a new ipad for this purpose. won't work.
svJasmine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 08:34   #7
Registered User
 
DreaminFred's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: FL West Coast
Boat: Pearson 365
Posts: 62
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

Just talked to West Marine-Ft Lauderdale. They said all garmin chartplotters use Explorer charts for the Bahamas. iNavX app for Android and iPad also use explorer charts for the bahamas. My understanding is Active Captain is in flux, I wouldn't make purchase decisions based on Active Captain availability or lack thereof.

Fred
__________________
DreaminFred
SV Joy, 1979 Pearson 365
Fla West Coast
DreaminFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 09:24   #8
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Southport, NC
Boat: Pearson 367 cutter, 36'
Posts: 320
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bean Counter View Post
Our Ipad still runs Garmin Blue Charts with Active Captain, ran it 5 minutes ago.


We are in the Bahamas currently using our 4 year old Garmin Fishfinder plotter, apparently the data card can be updated, but best to do online with a fast data connection (back in the USA). We also run Navionics on a Raymarine widescreen plotter, but is not as accurate as the Garmin charts.
If you previously installed Garmin Bluecharts Mobile on the iPad, you can still use it and any charts you purchased. But you cannot get chart updates or purchase new charts. Active Captain, on the other hand, will update on the iPad. I am still using Bluecharts on the iPad, but I am cautious because I have already seen ATON's in different locations than Bluechart says.

According to Garmin (I talked to them), if you have a Garmin device (chartplotter or even handheld) with Bluecharts installed, you can port the charts you purchase for that device onto an iPad. I would be interested to hear from anyone who has actually done this.
AJ_n_Audrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 09:29   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2018 Seawind 1160 Lite (Nov 2018 deliv.), Prev. 2002 Seawind 1000
Posts: 1,043
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DreaminFred View Post
Just talked to West Marine-Ft Lauderdale. They said all garmin chartplotters use Explorer charts for the Bahamas. iNavX app for Android and iPad also use explorer charts for the bahamas. My understanding is Active Captain is in flux, I wouldn't make purchase decisions based on Active Captain availability or lack thereof.

Fred
I don't think that is true, as when we cruised Bahamas in 2016, we had our B&G chartplotter loaded with C-Map Explorer chart chip, and an i-pad with Garmin Blue Chart running alongside. We would look at both when entering an anchorage, and there were times when the charts were different. And I know the C-Map chip was explorer chart based, as listed on their website:

https://www.explorercharts.com/index...id=5&Itemid=54

I'd contact the people at Explorer to confirm before buying anyone else's chip. Or depending on another program for the Bahamas.
sailjumanji is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 10:51   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 36
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

I use Aqua Map on my iPad
Ram mount on the dash board.
Aqua Map will download all NOAA ENCs.
Gypsyjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 18:56   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tarpon Springs fl
Boat: Morgan 384/ 1982
Posts: 187
Images: 3
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

I have a I pad and A Garmin chart plotter 7 inch touch screen Im in Clearwater so we need 2 chips One west coat and the other bahamas. We get active captain on the i pad. and we plot a course and its sent bluetooth to the chart plotter. works slick !
stnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 19:20   #12
Registered User
 
zboss's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On a boat
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 3,617
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

St. Augustine cruisers net had the opportunity to host Sail Magazine back in 2016 for the sailing south seminar with Mark Doyle and Monty/Sara of Explorer Charts. As a moderator we both got to attend. We were told directly by Monty that as of 2016, Garmin no longer licensed explorer charts data but that data was still available through Jeppson and C-Map.

However, with Garmin acquiring Active Captain last year, all of the new Garmin plotters (2018 models like the 742xs) offer active captain data fully integrated into plotter and can be updated over wifi.
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2018, 19:34   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2018 Seawind 1160 Lite (Nov 2018 deliv.), Prev. 2002 Seawind 1000
Posts: 1,043
Re: what plotter can use Active captian with explorer charts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zboss View Post
St. Augustine cruisers net had the opportunity to host Sail Magazine back in 2016 for the sailing south seminar with Mark Doyle and Monty/Sara of Explorer Charts. As a moderator we both got to attend. We were told directly by Monty that as of 2016, Garmin no longer licensed explorer charts data but that data was still available through Jeppson and C-Map.

However, with Garmin acquiring Active Captain last year, all of the new Garmin plotters (2018 models like the 742xs) offer active captain data fully integrated into plotter and can be updated over wifi.
Just to be clear, C-Map charts are by Jeppeson (it's the same company).

I also talked to the C-Map rep recently, and in one release last year the Max N+ chip for B&G Zeus plotters had Active Captain on the chip, but then a subsequent software change by B&G caused some issues and the AC data was removed on the next chip update. B&G has supposedly fixed that problem and C-Map's next release is again supposed to have the Active Captain data on the chip. Thru that date of release. There is no provision for intermediate updates of AD data over wifi, etc.
__________________

sailjumanji is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chart plotter with active captian svJasmine Weather | Gear, Reports and Resources 0 14-05-2018 09:16
Captian Sailing Wage jaydub74 General Sailing Forum 8 09-12-2007 09:33
becomeing a delivery captian blueskyonmars Meets & Greets 13 12-09-2007 09:28



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.