Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 21:35   #1

Boat: West Wight Potter 19
venture out on a west wight potter 19 ?

hello fellow mariners.....does anybody know of any accounts of WWP 19 cruizing up and down the east coat of US?....any remarquable acomplishments for these boats?.......I know that they are not a true blue water boat but I also know people crossed oceans in canoes...
......here what I have in mind......this summer, weather permitting, I plan on crossing Pamlico Sound from Oriental to Ocracoke Island off the coast of North Carolina, a trip of around 30 to 40 miles, if I remember correctly .....and if that goes well maybe cruise on down to Charlston Sc close to the shore maybe 5-10 miles off of it....
........obviously I am new to sailing....as a matter of fact I self taught myself to sail and on a 14 ft banchee with the help of a few books and the infinite wisdom of google und utube......apart from taking my WWP to a big lake in NC and once around Oriental on Neuse river that is the extent of my sailing experience on anything bigger than a dingie....as far as navigation with charts and with the GPS I think I picked it up fairly good ....
.........the boat is a 2002 model and the best I can tell is in tip top condition and marine radio equiped
......so what do you guys and gals think...am I daydreaming? am I naive? I know how choppy and scary it can get on the water....I experienced it on my first semi salt water sailing experience at Oriental .......there for a while I was one of the only two sailboats that were actually sailing and it was not fun.......I figured if he or she raised sail then so can I......needles to say my wife was screaming bloody murder .....Cheers
rakedfront1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2012, 01:15   #2