Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-06-2018, 11:42   #1

The affect of wind on a vessel without a sail

Hello,

I'm an archaeology student and currently working on possible ways in which prehistoric humans could have reached islands in the Mediterranean.

I have a question I hope you can help me with,
and please excuse me if I'm posting in the wrong forum, I wasn't sure in which one to write.

My question is, how much would the wind influence a vessel that doesn't have a sail? and what would influence it more, the wind or the sea currents?
Of course, the wind affects the currents, but what would be the influence on the vessel in addition?
It probably depends on the strength of the wind and current and so on, but if you could just give me your general impression.

Also, let's say we're talking about a simple small boat, and/or a raft.

Thanks!
Neta Friedman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2018, 12:20   #2
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: The affect of wind on a vessel without a sail

Wind and Waves and Current can take a raft (even one without a sail) a long way. Waves generally go with the wind. Current does not always. When working together (such as Gulf Stream) they can move a floating object about 4-5 knots at times. In some areas (for example off the east coast of Australia) strong currents can be very strong too.

What about examples of drifting distances?

The first example that comes to mind is that of a sailor whose sailboat sank. He abandoned his boat (as it quickly sank) and got into his life raft.