Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-01-2009, 14:23   #1

Boat: Bayliner Buccaneer 305
Steering with Sail Trim

Hi all, I have heard of balancing the boat to 'self steer' based on the sail trim. I realize that it is boat and sail plan specific, but are there any general techniques for this?

I have a 30' boat that draws 4.5'. I'm using just the main and jib (on roller furling). With some work, and a little persistence I can usually get the boat happy enough to steer with a lite touch. What do I need to do to take the next step? I am a novice and have learned quite a bit so far (and am forgetting lots while I wait out the winter) but I still have a long way to go. Thanks for help.
DBboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2009, 15:41   #2

Boat: 34 Sabre Tempest
Dboat,

Once you get to the point of the... light touch...let go..and then make small sail or even weight adjustments....`probably best to practice in light to moderate winds..steady winds are perfect....it's gusty days that are a challenge..

heading to wiind...if I think the sails are nicely balanced.. ...I've been playing with raising and lowering my centerboard in various increments..to get her to track herself...
Old 21-01-2009, 15:44   #3

Boat: Golden Gate 30, Westerly 23
DBoat: