Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 03-05-2016, 05:11   #1

Boat: C & C 33
Self taught sailing

A friend of mine thinks that by watching YouTube videos and trying one sail at a time Genoa and then Mainsail and lastly Spinnaker you can teach yourself to sail. Anyone done this?

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum

Old 03-05-2016, 05:25   #2

Boat: 1974 Bristol 27
Re: Self taught sailing

I did it but without the help of youtube since it was in the 80's and early 90's.

I also used both sails while learning then the spinnaker later after I bought a boat that had a spinnaker

I did it on a dinghy and a Hobie 16 then started racing (as Skipper on my boat) which really teaches you tons especially if you hate losing

I used this chart:

https://www.google.com/search?q=sail...9hZkWnTRoKM%3A

And these books plus tons of time on the water and lots more books on racing and lots of racing:

http://www.amazon.com/Catamaran-Sail.../dp/039331880X

http://www.amazon.com/Catamaran-Raci.../dp/1880871009

I've seen Dave Calvert (his name appears on the front of this book, one of the experts) post on CF before. I believe he is a sailmaker as well as a very good sailor)

I was also lucky enough to race against Carlton Tucker, Randy Smyth, and Bob Curry

Old 03-05-2016, 05:30   #3

Boat: Lagoon 400

i am doing it just like your friend.

in teachings of prominent sailors is lots of woodo and you can do better, i am hoping.

Just look at example of impact of fixed mast on airflow. Thinking about it has reversed recently. You can find details in more detailed air flow analysis on internet.

Intuition is something not to ignore.

see this trim that influenced me
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sail.JPG
Views:	284
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	123608  
Old 03-05-2016, 06:02   #4