Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2016, 20:35   #31

Re: Self taught sailing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tayana42 View Post
Biplane.😉

S/V B'Shert
The two wings on the Wright Biplane are like the Main and a jib. They interact and help each other. Their fuselage was a single (efficient) hull not a complicated multi fuselage. 😏😁
Transpac 67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 21:26   #32

Boat: Bieroc 36 foot Ketch

Quote:
Originally Posted by robert sailor View Post
There is sailing and cruising, sailors are not necessarily good cruisers and cruisers are not necessarily good sailors. You can learn anything you want by teaching yourself if that's what you like to do. Someone can show you something in 5 minutes that it might take you an hours reading so it's up to you how quick you want to learn something. If you really want to learn to sail get out on a race boat and start by crewing. If your a good observer and your with a good crew you will learn tons as well as have good times. Good cruisers have learned a detailed skillset that allows them to safely cross oceans and the skills to sail in a variety of conditions, all the while maintaining their boat and properly provisioning it. Many real good cruisers are marginal sailors at best but always get where they are going safely if not slowly. Sailing is like flying, you never quit learning and that's one of the really attractive aspects to this lifestyle.
I strongly disagree wiht this post. Though I suspect it's more terminology than anything else.

There is 'cruising' and there is 'racing', both are sailors and both can be excellent sailors. There is a saying that 'cruising' will teach you seamanship and 'racing' will teach you sailmanship, as in how to expertly use the sails to gain more speed.