Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2016, 16:28   #16
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Self taught sailing

I figure if the Wrights could learn to fly self taught, I could learn to sail, if I stall the boat, nothing drastic happens
The first boat I had ever sailed was our IP 38. Of course I would learn faster with some instruction and will soon seek some for the wife, just because I don't think she will listen to me, or actually some professional instruction will likely help us both, and I think she will take to instruction better from someone other than me.
I haven't really watched much YouTube, I have read a little, but to me sailing is intuitive, I guess maybe because in a way , your "flying" the sails, especially the headsail, unless downwind of course.
Now I had previous larger powerboat experience and of course lots of training in Meteorology from a flying career, so I knew boat handling and basic seamanship, it was the sailing experience that was completely new to me.

Would I be a better sailer if I had come up the the ranks starting with dinghies and then maybe beach Cats, done some racing etc? Of course I would have, no doubt about it, but I'm no teenager and if I don't get this thing going soon, I fear I would have waited too long.

My wife said the other day that she could tell I wasn't in love with the boat, that I was in love with the idea of not going to work anymore, and she was right, I enjoy sailing, but to me it's a means to an end, the end being able to retire and travel and be able to afford a decent standard of living, and have something to keep me busy. A boat fills those needs.