Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-04-2015, 14:01   #1

Boat: Westsail28
seismic surveys

On a couple of crossings from Texas to Florida I have met Large deepwater Seismic surveys(multiple boats towing multiple 10 kilometer cables). On both ocasions they required that I alter course so I would not interfere with their work. If I had prior information about their location I could have included that info in my route planning. Near shore survey info along with their locations are easy enough to get. I'm having trouble finding info on the deepwater surveys(out to 200 miles). Any geophysisists or petE's out there who know where I can get info.
quill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 14:30   #2
Eternal Member

Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Re: seismic surveys

As a retired geologist I am familiar with the deep water seismic surveys. The short answer, I believe, is no.

I know of no rule or reg that would require them to post their route or schedule. They are spending some VERY large $$$$ to gather that data and would not want their competitors to have any info. Think of them as long line fishermen. They don't advertise either.

Sent from my iPhone using Quantum Entagelment
cabo_sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2015, 16:47   #3

Boat: Cape Dory 28