Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2016, 19:00   #1

Ride Out Force 12 at Anchor?

Hello. Can you ride out a Force 12 (forecast sustained 64kt. winds) at anchor in a harbour? The short of it -- my father recently told me that he does not want his boat, and asked if I would take her off his hands. I have been scouring marina space in Metro Vancouver, and I am in the process of making arrangements to bring her to Point Roberts Marina (those people are lovely) when I found out today about this typhoon-fuelled storm with Cat. 1 force winds about to smash the PNW by Saturday. If I can get on a ferry after work Friday, I am going to try to get to Ladysmith and see if I can board her and check to make sure that the anchor is secure. I have some sailing experience, but absolutely no knowledge about how to ride out a storm of this force at anchor. I have been having nightmares all day about the anchor slipping, and the vessel running aground or colliding with another vessel. Any advice is humbly appreciated.
seiler.joseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 19:26   #2

Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!
Re: Ride Out Force 12 at Anchor?

For such events it's usually possible to find space tied up in a safe harbor, though you need to be willing to alter your approach in asking.

And to answer your original question, yes it's possible, & has been done. But staying onboard isn't really recommended. Plus, setting up a boat for anchoring in heavy weather is usually something which is done over time, so that all of the necessary gear is on hand, & is well tested.

The Uncommon Thing, The Hard Thing, The Important Thing (in Life): Making Promises to Yourself, And Keeping Them.
UNCIVILIZED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 19:44   #3
Moderator Emeritus