Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-10-2009, 11:16   #1

New Boat, Sailing South ?

Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum and need some advice. I've been sailing on and off for about 10 years and last year I purchased a 42' Frans Maas and have the dream of sailing it south from Southern California to the Sea of Cortez and beyond. I just returned from working in Alaska saving money to do repairs on the sailboat and having enough to survive and have fun until I leave for Alaska again in March.

I haven't had a lot of time on this sailboat getting to know it and though I want to go south this winter for a couple of months, do you think that it's a good idea or that i'm rushing it? Would you personally wait till next season, taking the time to get to know the boat and have a fun time sailing locally?

Thanks for your help and advice!

Stanly
Stanly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2009, 13:05   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
I bought a boat new to me in Tampa. I was toying with the idea of sailing it to houston, reason won out, and I trucked the boat. In hindsight I am extremly glad I didn't sail it as I found several hundred little projects that would have made the trip miserable.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2009, 13:10   #3

You defintiely should know your boat well before going. ( I assume you navigate well, reef well etc) Every boat has it's little idiosyncrasies. The best test for you is to get out and stay on the anchor for 1-2 weeks a couple of times. You will then know the "Must Have" list for repairs or added things.! Going south to the Sea for couple of months is not ideal either.... the bash back will probably take you 3 weeks unless you are the type to just go continuously in any weather....
Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote