Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-03-2016, 18:59   #1

Boat: Moody 33
New

Before I start just want to warn everyone I will ask a lot of dumb questions and I am not sure which section I should put them in so here goes.

I have no experience of sailing but in my fantasies I sail across the globe on my own boat. While in Spain last year we went to a boat auction and I left a bid on a boat that has not been sailed for seven year and not used for three. I was surprised to have won the bid and the boat yard in Spain has fixed her up at a cost of €21,000, including new electronics, rebuilt engine, new fuel tanks, new wind generator, sails.

A friend has offered to teach me to sail by bringing the boat to North Wales from Spain end of April, I intend to quit my job and go off sailing in May. Most people go off to the med, I want to go to Norway and Iceland, am I being over ambitious?

How do I know what my boat is capable off?

Can I also ask what sort of budget do I need.

I have watched many You Tube videos and wonder if fishing is compulsory.

Thanks if anyone answers.
Lost Julie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 19:03   #2

Re: New

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost Julie View Post
Before I start just want to warn everyone I will ask a lot of dumb questions and I am not sure which section I should put them in so here goes.

I have no experience of sailing but in my fantasies I sail across the globe on my own boat. While in Spain last year we went to a boat auction and I left a bid on a boat that has not been sailed for seven year and not used for three. I was surprised to have won the bid and the boat yard in Spain has fixed her up at a cost of €21,000, including new electronics, rebuilt engine, new fuel tanks, new wind generator, sails.