Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-01-2010, 05:16   #1

Boat: 09 MacGregor M26, Pisces
Unhappy Mainsail Reefing

As a novice, I find myself confused concerning the subject of reefing the main. Is there a method, when lowering the main for reefing, to prevent the slugs from spilling out of the gate? I hope this question makes sense.
chucktro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2010, 05:52   #2

Maybe practice reefing while at the dock on a calm day. Regarding the slugs falling out when reefing, the gate needs to be closed. If the gate is missing you'll need to buy or fabricate one.

It is better to practice this on a windlass day in the dock then on the water when the dogs are getting blown off the chain.
Joli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2010, 07:52   #3

Location: Winter land based UK New Forest. Summer months away. Making the transition from sail to power this year - scary stuff.
Boat: Super Van Craft 1320 Power Yacht
Send a message via Skype™ to swagman
Some rigs are set up with a gate closure fabricated to screw or swing over and stop the slugs coming out.
If you've not got one an easy solution is to drill a small hole from one side of the mast extrusion into the side of the track just above you gate.
You can then push in one of those large R shaped spring pins and you'll prevent the slugs from dropping down the track.
You can even run a light loose cord from the spring clip to the gooseneck to stop you dropping it over the side when taking it out.
Cheers
JOHN
Old 23-01-2010, 08:52   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
It is better to practice this on a windlass day in the dock then on the water when the dogs are getting blown off the chain.