Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2016, 14:48   #1

Boat: Alden 44
How to deal with T storms on the Chesapeake

I'm new to the E Coast as well as the Chesapeake. Seams like there is an incredible number of Thunderstorms around. I'm wondering how to deal with them, from determining when to stay ashore, to avoiding them on the bay, to tactics when you can't escape. I do have radar but not sure what a thunderstorm will look like on the scope. I understand you need to get the sails down, and avoid the shore...any other advice? Thanks!
GregW1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 15:15   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler
Re: How to deal with T storms on the Chesapeake