Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Seamanship & Boat Handling
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-07-2008, 10:17   #1

Basic question about sequence in sail trimming when alone

Complete novice question here:

Last week I took a quick and dirty introduction to sailing at a local club. The boat was a 14' open boat with a mainsail and jib. I feel I got the general idea, and my plan is to just get out there on the lake and sail back and forth until it feels automatic.

However...

The instructor was handling the jib while I was handling the mainsail and rudder, and I realize that I wasn't paying as much attention to what he was doing as I should have. Today is a calm day, and I want to go out and give it a try alone, but I'm not entirely clear about how to handle both sails.

If I'm, say, tacking, is the idea to uncleat and release the jib sheet first, so it lufts, and then turn the rudder, and focus on sheeting the mainsail correctly, and then sheet in and cleat the jib on the opposite side?

Or am I supposed to figure out a way to have both sheets in my hand at the same time, and sheet them simultaneously?

Thanks in advance for the answer to such a simple question.
colinml is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2008, 10:44   #2

Boat: Fastback 43