Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 23-06-2008, 03:07   #1

Boat: None at the moment
Send a message via AIM to Evil One Send a message via MSN to Evil One Send a message via Yahoo to Evil One
VERY new - Holyoke

Not only new to this forum but new to sailing also.
I have some powerboat experience, small freshwater type.
Most of my youth I looked at sailboats as something I needed to watch out for as I was blasting across the lake.
However, lately my thoughts have turned towards a sailboat big enough to take 5 people out for the day... and 2 people up the coast for a week.
I am not sure if it is maturity, wisdom, or mentally being is a "happy place"... but whatever it is I am liking it.
My fiancee and I are taking a boat handling class in august and are considering a craft in the 23-27 foot range.
Any advice you can offer a total newcomer will be more than welcome.
In the meantime I will be searching the forum and doing my daily research.

Many thanks and a big Hello.

Jim

Old 23-06-2008, 03:28   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Welcome aboard.You will likely get a lot of advice from a lot of good people on this forum. I am too old to remember being your age. Ther are a lot of boats in the range you want. You start by narrowing down the needs and wants and money available, read through a lot of these threads and patterns will form. As far as maturing, hopefully that happens to everyone at some point or other. LOL

Old 23-06-2008, 04:18   #3

Send a message via AIM to Evil One Send a message via MSN to Evil One Send a message via Yahoo to Evil One
Thanks for the welcome Lancerbye.
As far as needs and wants, I have become a fairly basic man.
With the exception of my project car/toy, my fiancee and I moved cross country with a 12' moving truck. I dont go in for a lot of extraneous creature comforts and "doo dads".