Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2008, 23:39   #1

Location: Tabor IA until I decide for sure to do the liveaboard thing
Boat: Pacesetter Sedan Bridge 30 feet long
Total newbie to big boats--can I pick your esteemed brains?

Hi, I just bought a 30 foot 1973 Pacemaker Sedan (flybridge?) off ebay for 310 bucks...seriously. Here's a link to it.

eBay Motors: winter project 1973 pacemaker, no reserve!! (item 200269290430 end time Nov-05-08 15:35:54 PST)

I have heard that these are essentially Egg Harbor boats under a different name and that they have VERY robust hulls (mine is all fiberglass).

She appears to have the original engines, but I thought crusaders were strictly a Chris Craft line of engines. The last time I was running a boat this large was when I was a teenager "stealing" my Uncle Dave's 35 foot Connie out of the Traverse City Michigan marina. He had a pair of V12 two stroke twin turbo all aluminum diesel motors in it..I think he said they were made to replace the liberty engines in PT boats during WWII? All I know is a Connie doing 45 knots at half throttle scares people on the shoreline..not to mention being able to outrun coast guard cutters too.

Anyway, I'm now 46, retired, and my wife retired me, after I came back shot up from my last tour in Iraq..she had two kids outside the marriage and was pregnant with a third, and handed me a piece of paper saying not only did I not live there anymore, but I had lost my house, 100k in equity, my 65k race car shop I had built for my 7 year old son, 3 daughters and I to build race cars and bikes in, and she also got half my military retirement..all as a reward for sleeping with every person in a five mile radius. Gotta love a law made by two die hard liberals that allows someone to get HALF your military retirement after being married to you for ten years of your career. Odd, I didn't see HER getting blown up, shot, and stabbed.