Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 24-07-2016, 16:22   #1

total newb to boating

Hi all. I've recently been captivated by the idea of cruising the Great Lakes area with my wife in a 35-40ish foot power cruiser that we can overnight. Michigan has so many wonderful port towns to experience. It sounds like such a great idea. As a total newbie to boating I'm learning as much as I can but I welcome any input from the experienced here on this great forum. I'd welcome advice about boating in general, overnighting, boats to buy, cruising the Great Lakes. Like I said, I'm trying to absorb it all. I don't even know anyone that is in to boating.

I was originally intrigued with some wooden classic Chris Craft cruisers I saw. They are so beautiful. They remind me of restored classic cars. Anyway, while I'm not looking for a wooden classic I am interested in older classic fiberglass boats from the 70's & early 80's. So glad I found this forum! Rob

RobGD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 18:06   #2
Senior Cruiser

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Re: total newb to boating

Welcome aboard CF.

It sounds as if you're more interested in power than sail. It's not quite like driving a car around, there are new-to-you "rules of the road", called Colregs to learn. Hiring people to work on your boat is just as much of a pig in a poke as with cars, but perhaps a higher level of unreliability. When you are on the water, it will take help longer to arrive than it usually does on land, and water is basically a bit hostile to humans from the perspectives of hypothermia and drowning.