Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2010, 13:35   #1

Three Canadian Boys, one Cat...

Well, that's what it's going to be in a couple years anyway. Names Clarke, and I'm studying in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada at the moment. Planning a major two year circumnavigation with my two buddies, and this forum seems like a terrific resource!

Never sailed anything 40' ish size, but I have sailed the tiny little lasers and such, and as well, I sailed as crew aboard the (recently sunk) S/V Concordia for 5 months last year, so I have a healthy and growing love for the ocean and everything it has to offer.
Toro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 13:58   #2

Welcome Toro,

Sounds like a great adventure and you should find plenty of help in this forum. What kind of cat are you planning for this round the world venture?
Abaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 14:07   #3

Boat: McGregor venture 15 "IMP"
Hey Clarke,
Glad to have you around. Keep us posted as your plans come together.
Spencer
Old 02-03-2010, 14:16   #4

I'm not sure what you mean by 'kind' of cat. Our budget is pretty limited, coming in at $90k, which leaves about $65k tops by my estimation for the cat itself. Something from 36-42' I'm thinking. I love the privilege's, but they are way more expensive than I can look at .
Old 02-03-2010, 15:24   #5

Boat: '75 Hunter 27 SD
Welcome to Cruisers Forum.

Do you get out sailing around Halifax much?

My club www.SYClub.ca
Greenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 15:27   #6

Not at all, actually, although I know people that do, and there are regular races around here.
Old 02-03-2010, 15:40   #7

I think, actually, it would be prudent for me to elaborate on my situation, so that others understand me better and where I'm coming from.