Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-11-2014, 13:14   #1

Boat: Cheoy Lee Offshore 31 Ketch
Refitting a Cheoy Lee Offshore 31 Ketch

I have been lurking in these forums for a while but figure now is as good a time as any to introduce myself. 6 months ago I sold and donated everything I owned to pursue a life at sea. I am new to sailing but in no way am I a novice boater. I took sailing lessons over the summer and have gone out many times since then. My educational background is in Electronics Engineering, Computer Engineering and Core Programming. I currently work as a freelance software developer and will continue to do so while I cruise.

A friend came to me with a great find across the country in Virginia. A 31' Cheoy Lee Offshore Ketch. There was only one catch, she was for the most part in pieces from a refit that was abandoned. The good news is that all of her parts are there and were kept in storage. I have this constant urge to keep myself challenged and I felt what better way to prepare myself for living aboard a sailing vessel than by doing a full refit on one (with professional guidance/help of course).

So I had her inspected, put a coat of bottom paint on, dropped her in the water and loaded her up with all of the parts, masts, booms, etc. As I write this, she is being towed to her slip at the marina to await my arrival next month. I love the feel that this community provides and I hope to make a lot of friends on here. I love to learn and love new experiences. Let the adventure begin!

Jeff