Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-02-2015, 14:58   #1

Boat: Pearson 36 cutter
Re-entry in North Carolina

Hello from Coastal NC,

I am not new to sailing, but it has been 30+ years since I have had my hand on the tiller of a sailboat larger than 16 feet. As a boy, I sailed Sunfish in Choctawhatchee Bay, Florida and in the Gulf of Mexico. I crewed for my dad in his Catalina 27 for about ten years, but after I graduated from college, work and family (plus not being near a large body of water) ended my large sailboating experience. I've owned a Laser dinghy for fifteen years, and I've lake-sailed it and ocean sailed it, but now I want a large (30-36 foot) boat that could reasonably be sailed along the East Coast between Norfolk and northern Florida, and even to the Bahamas after a bit of experience and proper outfitting. This is something my dad always wanted to do but never had the chance to between work and health issues. I'm ready to re-enter the sailing world, and I'm at a point in life where that is possible from a time and money standpoint.