Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-04-2013, 07:07   #31
Registered User
jeremiason's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Punta Gorda, Florida
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 1,390
Images: 2
Send a message via ICQ to jeremiason Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiason Send a message via Skype™ to jeremiason
Re: Question about TV and intro..

Originally Posted by cdory25 View Post
I seem to have started quite the debate. I like it! When I have shore power I have no problem running a 110 volt TV monitor. My boat is completely self contained with no genset so I was looking for a video solution for when I'm offshore on the hook, thus the 12 volt TV suggestion. I have dual batteries. Will an inverter work with the motor off and if so for how long and what size inverter would I need?

Thanks again!
Blues Cruiser

An inverter changes 12 volt from your batteries to 120 volts.

You can run about 15amps on a 180 watt inverter, which should be more than enough for a TV. The next step is 300 watts.

You did not state the size of your battery bank so there is no way to tell how long it will run, but my guess you will have no problem getting a movie a day.

Here is an example...

Tom Jeremiason
SV Camelot
Punta Gorda, Florida
jeremiason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2013, 15:16   #32
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: daytona beach florida
Boat: csy 37
Posts: 2,844
Images: 1
Re: Question about TV and intro..

i run a 15" lcd tv, dvd player, and antenna on a 150 watt inverter. how long you can run depends on how much battery capacity you have.

just so you can start your engine the next day, make sure you have a 'house' bank and a 'starter' bank, and only run your inverter off 'house'.

onestepcsy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2013, 18:59   #33
Senior Cruiser
Ramblingman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2013
Boat: Chesapeake Light Craft Passagemaker, Tyler Craft T42, and 9' RIB.
Posts: 148
Originally Posted by ArtM View Post

I don't know of anyway to get input from an iPhone or iPad, except to use Airplay, which requires more components and gives pretty low-grade results (at least in my tests).

Is there an HDMI adapter for the Apple devices? I might have heard of such a thing, but have never seen one operating.
There are adapters for svga and hdmi. They work very well.

Ramblingman is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:22.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.