Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-11-2007, 17:54   #1

Boat: Skookum 53 ketch
PNW - Skookum 53 Re-Fit

My name is Bill, and my wife and I have been re-fitting our Skookum 53 ketch for the last 3 years. It was a commercial troller for many years in Alaska. When we bought it, it was kind of like taking on about 30 major engineering projects all at the same time. But I'm an engineer, and the wife loves the boat, so we have been ploughing through the projects averaging about 1000 hours a year on them. The boat is in Washington (Anacortes area), which has a lot of boat repair activity. However, it often amazes me how difficult it can be to find the spare parts you need for a 27 year old boat.
We are getting close to retirement, so the boat will be the "retirement cabin". I look forward to making some more PNW contacts on this really great website.
billr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2007, 18:33   #2

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
Welcome aboard billr!

I'm just S. of you, up the river in Port Gardner. I've a project going myself working towards retirement. Although I'll be sailing mine to the S. Pac. when it's to the stage to do so.

The spare parts are no problem for me, I make them myself. There seems to be a fair share of Skookums here in the PNW. I like their looks but know little of their construction.

I'm sure you'll enjoy the site, very infomitive.........................._/)
Old 23-11-2007, 02:22   #3

Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer