Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 18-08-2012, 15:58   #1

Pirate, Poet and Sailor...without a boat!

Hi everyone!

My husband and I are considering abandoning our land life for one at sea. Sounds all too familiar, I'm sure and what's worse is we've never sailed a lick in anything of notable size. (I can hear the groans, but bear with me a minute. )

He's active duty Coast Guard and has been on a ship his entire career, which began 13 years ago. He's very much a lover of the sea and shipboard life. I've sailed only small Hobies/sunfish and am a gypsy soul for certain. Sun, sand and saltwater are my love and also my business. I'm a jewelry designer by trade and my line is heavily nautical.

In any event, I came here to see if I can get pointed in the right direction to find out where we'd start for becoming more familiar with sailing extensively. Our goal is blue water cruising...island hopping in the tropics. We have two children, one of which is my son and doesn't perform well in traditional school settings, however this year I enrolled him in a junior sailing program during the summer and he took to it instantly. He loves the water as much as I do...

I don't know what the next step is, aside from poking through the hundreds of threads here. Do we go enroll in a school or take a trip aboard a catamaran to familiarize ourselves of expectations and how to handle the boat?

Any advice to this rather green mermaid would be appreciated.

Fair winds and following seas to you all...

~Danielle

Old 18-08-2012, 16:49   #2

Boat: OEM, proportional
Re: Pirate, Poet and Sailor...without a boat!

G'day Danielle & Crew, welcome!

What to do? All of the above, I guess: research, and practice. You have it easier than me because you are near water.