Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-04-2011, 04:36   #1

Boat: Hermann Lazyjack 32 schooner
Newbie Greetings from Mobile Bay !

Hi to all,

I've been sailing for over 35 years, started with a Sunfish knock-off and O'day 22 on inland lakes in Michigan. After a college hiatus, bought another Sunfish and an O'day Daysailor for inland lakes in North Carolina; then a Catalina 25 on the Potomac River in Northern Virginia and a Catalina 30 in Long Beach California. The latter two gave my wife and I our first taste of cruising, mostly overnighters and weekends.

Had a pretty little Rob Roy yawl in San Diego Bay, and when we retired moved it to the eastern shore of Mobile Bay in Alabama. Spent a year of more extensive cruising of the Rob Roy here and in Mississippi Sound. Our biggest cruising adventure in the Rob Roy was a 30 mile sail home from one of the Mississippi Barrier islands after we lost our rudder, steering by sails alone and sailing all the way into our slip.

Decided we needed a bigger boat so last year sold the Rob Roy and bought a 32' Lazyjack schooner - fiberglass centerboard boat designed by Ted Brewer and built by the Ted Hermann boat shop in New York. Spent three months refurbishing the boat at Hudson, FL just north of Tarpon Springs; and this time last year took 15 days to transit Florida's Big Bend to bring the boat home, mostly under power with stops at Yankeetown, Suwannee, an overnight to Apalachicola and then up the ICW thru Panama City, Destin, Orange Beach and up Mobile Bay to home.