Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-09-2008, 04:58   #1

New to sailing and need advice

Hi

I am new to the sailing world and am preparing to buy my first sail boat. Any recommendations, tips, etc will be appreciated.
Retazra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2008, 05:28   #2
Eternal Member

Boat: Simpson, Catamaran, 46ft. IMAGINE
That's harder than recommending a car. Go to yachtworld.com, or a similiar site. Look for what is in your budget. Buy some books that will give you needed information on making a choice. You need to do some research yourself. You will get a different answer from each member. This question is asked almost daily.

I am not trying to put you off, but without input from you that is valuable to you. It is hard to help you with your question. Finding a boat that meets ones needs is an elusive hunt at times. Everything is a compromise.

What's your budget? Where will you sail? How many people will be aboard? What amenities are needed by you, and the list goes on, and on.....BEST WISHES in getting pointed in the right direction. Choosing a boat just isn't all that easy.
imagine2frolic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2008, 05:41   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Have you ever sailed before?

You might start with a dinghy or renting from your local club.

Welcome aboard Crusers Forum BTW. Glad to have you here.
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2008, 05:54   #4

I'm new to sailing too, Retazra, but I have a suggestion that might work for you (it's worked GREAT for me).