Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2014, 08:44   #1

Boat: Alden auxiliary ketch 48'
new member - old sailer

Greetings! First, a confession. I have lurked here for several years reading, absorbing and reading some more. I have reached a point in my sailing life where I am likely to need more and must ask specific questions as a result.

I have been sailing for more than 50 years. I grew sailing with my family. In 1962, my parents bought a Pearson Triton and all 6 of us cruised the Great Lakes on her for many years. In fact, my wife and I raised our son on the same boat - sailing on her to this day.

Many years ago (I will not say how many) I bought a decrepit wooden sailboat - a 47' auxiliary ketch designed and built by John Alden (Hull 777A). Played around with her for years until our son urged me to get serious. He did so because he wanted to learn the skills involved.

I had always wanted to finish her and live aboard upon retirement. That is the current plan/hope. The basic construction issues I have well in hand - I have discovered a craftsman/artist who taught my son and me and will be there thru the reconstruction. It's the systems, rigging, sails, motor, etc. That's where I need the help. So much I have learned just by reading here but will become more involved in the discussions as I seek more specific info. I will try to be more brief than I have been here.
crazyoldboatguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 08:54   #2

Boat: 1975 Downeaster 38' Cutter
Re: new member - old sailer