Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-01-2007, 14:10   #1

Boat: none yet
Married..., how should we get started?

Hey folks,

I just got interested in sailing and hopefully full time cruising someday while I was deployed to Afghanistan. I am a married US Army soldier stationed at Ft Bragg, NC and have about 10 years left until I retire from active duty and I would like to drag my wonderful wife with me and cruise. Once I retire, I don't want life to just pass me by... Instead, I would really love to just sit on the deck of a sailing boat while I pass by life and watch.

I have no boat, but have been on plenty enough, both power and sail. I would like to buy a wooden boat or build my own out of wood. do any cruisers out there have wooden boats? if so, what's it like? I also thought about FRP, but I'm not too sure. And if your woman thought you were nuts at first, let me know how that went and what I should expect.

At first, my wife thought I was nuts. Now she's all for it. I don't think she knows what she's getting into, but neither do I and I'm sure I would handle it no problemo. I'm just worried about how she will take it. any suggestions from women who've had their wacky husbands drag 'em along for a really long boat ride, would be very appreciated.

Kind regards,

J. M. Krenzer
landlubberfornow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2007, 14:34   #2
Building a Bateau TW28

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Bateau TW28 Long Cabin
Welcome aboard JM.

Thank you for serving your country. Even we Canadians appreciate your dedication, service and sacrafices.