Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-11-2009, 08:35   #1

Boat: Custom Roberts design, 45' Amnesty
Looking for Advice

Hi, I have been building a sailboat for several years; just finished with the shakedown cruises and am planning to head from Cape Cod towards the Caribbean. I'm not a well seasoned sailor but can handle the boat in testy conditions (so far) I am looking for someone who has taken this trip around this time of year who can give me some advice; is it all that tough to go down the Eastern seaboard this time of year? and what are the hazzards? I will be taking the ICW near the Carolinas but wondering what to expect betwen here & there. Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks
Gordon
Gordon b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2009, 09:00   #2

Boat: SAnta Cruz 27
Take it in 1-2 day jumps and WATCH THE WEATHER FORECASTS!

When you are out, use the 5 knot rule--if you are not sailing at least 5 knots in the direction you need to go, turn on the engine--don't wait for the weather to turn bad on you.

I'd probably go down Long Island Sound, jump from Sandy Hook to Cape May, and then go the Deleware/Chesapeake Bay route. It will take a little longer, but there are lots more places to hide from the weather.
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2009, 11:49   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
There's numerous reasonable possibilities, but I generally favour donradcliff's advice.
Good luck, with your late-season transit.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2009, 12:19   #4