Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2016, 04:57   #1

Landlocked Student/Veteran

Hi everybody,

My name is Justin and I am a 26-year-old UF student living in working in Gainesville, FL. I am currently pursuing my bachelors degree in PR and work for an SEO start-up company, Hyperlynx Media, here in downtown Gainesville.

Back in September I was honorably discharged from the USMC after serving six years and two years inactive reserve.

I enjoy the ocean and water in general and have grown up surfing, fishing, swimming, diving and any other activity you can think of on or in the water as a native of FL.

Recently I started to think about what I wanted to do after graduation and where I wanted to live. I have never been one to lead a "normal" lifestyle and choose more of a vagabond style of living. I love the tiny house movement but felt that it was too restrictive in terms of settling down in one place.

Before returning to school at UF, after being discharged, I almost purchased a sailboat in my hometown that was docked in a marina on the St. John's. It was being sold as a liveaboard but needed a lot of work to get it sail worthy again.

I have no prior experience in either sailing (besides a small 10' hoby we use to use on a lake I lived on) or restoration of a sailboat so I decided that I needed to wait until I could invest time into learning how to sail and about the design/construction of a sailboat.

That is what has led me to this forum, a desire to learn everything I can about sailing and sailboat design so that hopefully, upon graduation, I can invest in a liveaboard sailboat that I can restore rather than the more traditional way of buying a house after college.