Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 22-01-2014, 18:38   #1

Boat: Gulfstar 50' Ketch
I'm A Newbie Today

Finally after 15 years of searching I found my retirement boat. A 1978 Gulfstar 50' located in Alameda. A pristine example (Forget the old Perkins) of one of the finest production sailing yachts ever made. (Personal Opinion) Purchased Dec 13, 2013 she is in the middle of being repowered with a new Yanmar 4JH4-HT. I have come to one conclusion though... When this is all finished I will probably be qualified for a government job with all the cost over runs and such. Almost afraid to answer my phone now 'cause it seems each phone call has an "Oh .... by the way, did you....." And, as each "Oh .... by the way" is explained all I hear is Cha Ching Cha Ching $$$$$$. Her name is Magic and she has been sailed extensively from SF to Mexico to Hawaii and back by the previous owners. And I intend to use that as a starting point.

Old 22-01-2014, 18:48   #2

Boat: 1980 Morgan 415
Congrats and good luck.

Old 22-01-2014, 18:55   #3

Re: I'm A Newbie Today

Thank you for the welcome. I hope to share some input into the forums with knowledge and humor. I have been on sailboat since I was 4 years old and hooked. The Gulfstar is my 4th boat and my Cascade 29 will be going on the market in the spring. I have 2 buyers in line now so it should be painless to move it to a new home.
Sailing experience; I began sailing on Lake Michigan and then made my way to Gulf of Mexico, Chesapeake Bay, to the San Juans and now SF Bay.

Engineer by education I love the aspect of McGivering things on the fly when necessary. (I think all of us sailors love that aspect of it)
Old 22-01-2014, 19:00   #4
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Corbin 39

Congratulations, have you some photos?
Old 22-01-2014, 20:05   #5