Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2010, 20:59   #1

Send a message via Yahoo to Dreamofsailing
Hi, Just Wanted to Introduce Myself

I am a newbie and wanted to introduce myself. My name is Kevin and I am in the Chicago-land area...I am going to be buying my first sail boat (boat period) in 2012 before the season starts. I am taking a beginning sailing class in spring of 2011... I am obsessed with sailing and spend a considerable amount of time looking and perusing sail boats for sale. I love downtown Chicago and being on the lakefront watching the boaters...one day this will be me watching the gawkers
Dreamofsailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 21:12   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: We're technically refugees from our home in Yemen now living in Lebenon
Boat: 1978 CT48
Welcome to the forum Kevin.....sounds like you're hooked.
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 21:38   #3

Boat: International Etchells USA 125 Black Magic, Santana 20 475 Ghost, Hobie 33 3100 Bruja, dinghies,
Welcome and keep turning those dreams into reality. I hope you'll hook up with a sailing club, co-op, or one of the more water-oriented/less stuffy yacht clubs so you can hang out with sailors. Volunteering to help out with regattas and sailing events is also a good way to get closer to boats. Most states and organizations such as the USCG Aux and US Power Squadrons also offer inexpensive or free basic safety classes.