Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2007, 13:19   #1

Hi All, Are my Dreams reasonable

Hi All,
I've developed this dream to buy a sailboat with some friends of mine and sail down to the Caribbean this summer. The plan would be to buy and and fix up a boat for a month and then sail for a few months and then sell the boat again as we have to return to school and jobs. We have a budget of 35k to 40k. I have seen a fair number of coastal cruisers on online listing sites that seem to fit the bill but I don't know. I'm a Florida boy born and bred on the water. I have plenty of boat and ocean experience, but sailing experience is limited to little hobie cats.

To me it all seems a very reasonable adventure and so I've been trying to find the pitfalls of such a dream. Admittedly I am naive to most things cruising, but I have plenty of time to learn and would ofcourse take all courses necessary to become a sufficient sailor before we did any serious sailing.

So I was hoping for some advice, is our boat budget reasonable, what substancial costs exist beyond the price of the boat and getting it ready, is a Caribbean cruise reasonable for someone like myself. Admittedly not much can deter me when I set my mind on something, but I would like to know what types of things may prove to be most difficult stumbling blocks.

Thank you
JP
DreamingofaCruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 16:21   #2

Boat: MacGregor 26M Lynx