Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-01-2009, 11:22   #1

Boat: Bruce Roberts Spray, 36' Steel Junk-Rigged Schooner
Thumbs up Hi all!

Hi guys. Just brought my first boat, she's currently in Chesapeake, MD. I'm still in the UK. Though I have a few years experience in the Indian Ocean while living in South Africa, this will be my first Short-handing experience that has lasted more than 2 days. Looking forward to it though, been studying like crazy, and have joined here to get more tips and advice. My planned route if currently Chesapeake-Panama-French Polynesia, with possible;y a few short stops along the way. I'm lucky enough to be eligible for a French Passport, so I will be staying in the Pacific awhile. I'm on a fairly tight budget, as I'll be renting out my flat once I'm out of the UK, but it should be enough as I have time to do most of the labour for repairs myself.
Captn_Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2009, 21:34   #2

Boat: islandpacket
Sounds great. can we use the boat till you come over. You just don't want it to just sit there! Welcome and hope to hear more.
Old 26-01-2009, 21:40   #3

Lol... well it does seem like an aweful waste... tell you what, get fully comp insurance and buy me a jib, and your welcome to take her around chesapeake!!!
Old 27-01-2009, 00:34   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Hi Captain Jaz - Single handing is very adventurous. Consider how and if you can get crew. It will make things oh so simpler and better.

If you do single hand the key is redundancy in automated systems and absolute top level maintenance. Having one auto pilot system fail should not be an emergency. Having steering system failure should be an inconvenience and a suitable backup should be readily available.