Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 20-08-2007, 02:18   #1

Hello there Anchor Clankers,

My name is Steve (from USA) and my Wifes name is Petula (from England).

I have lived and crewed on a 66 foot Motor Sailer and piloted a friends 60 foot barge (houseboat). I have always loved boating but was never in a position to do it as a way of life I have been severely land locked!. My wife has always liked the Ocean and boats and has always dreamed of living on a boat. Well, we are now in the process of making that happen!!!

Petula has traveled extensively throughout Europe in a Caravan (English for Trailer) and has no problem with the limited space.

I have some sailing experience but due to our ages we are probably going to opt for a Power Yacht.

Being newbies we will need some guidance and advice on some of the decisions we will need to make about our new life style. We appreciate in advance your patients and help.

Thanks to all
Steve and Petula

Old 20-08-2007, 04:08   #2

Boat: Southerly UK 37ft
some advice on long term cruising

1, books and books as much as you can take

2 Blue Plant and History books of the places you will visit.

3. as many engine spares as you can get for your engine

4. plan according to weather condition IE time of year

5 Have medications as much as needed and extra for emergency toothace..

6if you ever reach the Medeataerinan... write to me..we have sailed the MED for 50 years now...

Mike

migot1

Old 20-08-2007, 13:22   #3

Thanks Mike for your suggestions. Here is a little on my background so you may better understand my potential and needs as a liveaboad cruiser.