Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 16-03-2006, 17:04   #1

Hello from the Desert

Hello everyone. Been reading this forum for a few weeks and decided to register and say hi. Currently living in Arizona and work in construction (Union Pipefitter).

Don't know how to sail and have never been on a boat longer than a few hours (funny considering I was in the US Navy for 3yrs)

Anyway, just my quick intro.

Old 16-03-2006, 17:25   #2

Another Voice In The Desert ...Responds!!!

Hello Peoria Arizona.

Phoenix Arizona here!! CaptainK's my name. "Welcome aboard!!"

Now I can chat with somebody closer to me. WOW!!

I once served in the US Navy too. 9 years!! Served it all on the east coast.!!

I have a 1973 Catalina 27. Tied up in Moss Landing, California. Plan on moving back out to California. I actually don't like Arizona. Too damn hot here in the summer!!

I used to turn wrenches for a living (auto mechanic). But in 2003 my body just said, "NO MORE!!" And I refuse to work outside in this state ever again. Talking about death walking all over you. That's how I felt every damn day!! It sucks!!

Anyway. It's good to see another Arizonian here on this forum. And feel free to chat anytime. Ya got questions. I'll try to answer any one ya got? This forum has been very helpful with answering some of my many questions.

Welcome aboard Belisarius!!

"Those who desire to give up Freedom in order to gain security, will not have, nor do they deserve, either one." - Benjamin Franklin
CaptainK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2006, 18:16   #3

Yes the Arizona sun can, at times, be brutal. I really wonder why so many people want to move here

Boy, do I have questions!

What do SV and SY mean? I'm guessing that they mean Sailing Vessel and Sailing Yacht, but I don't really know. If so what is the distinction between the two?