Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2014, 10:57   #1

Hello from the coastline!

Hello everyone! Several years ago when I graduated college someone asked me "What do you want to do now?" and I easily replied with "I want to own a sailboat!" There was a good laugh all around, but oh dear reader, I knew it was no joke. Time has passed and I have been travelling since July 2013 with a bicycle. After an unsupported 7000 miles of pedalling I have stopped this bike tour in Ireland and am now faced with the Atlantic ocean sitting between me and my home. My plans of learning to sail here in Ireland came to an unexpected end through no fault of my own and I am still an inexperienced sailor. Luckily someone guided me to this website! It is still not an auspicious moment for my boat ownership but it is a grand time indeed to continue research into those most basic forces of wind and water in their relation to transportation. I don't believe my research will be groundbreaking to anyone familiar with sailing but it will definitely broaden my understanding

I would greatly appreciate if anyone can help me find my way onto a sailboat. I am currently in County Cork, Ireland trying to make it to the Canary islands. It would also be appreciated if anyone knows of someone in the Canaries who needs crew to cross the Atlantic. It seems that any website I have found for matching potential crew with boat owners requires paying rediculous sums of money.

Happy sailing everyone!!!
Derek Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 14:20   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54