Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2015, 21:44   #1

Hello from New Zealand - advice?

Hello everyone, my name is Fran & I'm a newbie! I joined the forum after meeting a lovely bloke in Queenstown who is sailing his way around the world. I'd thought about offering my hands as a crew member long ago, but talking to him re-inspired me to get some feelers out there

I've come to this side of the world (originally from the UK) to see as much of it as possible. As a big believer in the adventure of the journey being as important as reaching the destination, the idea of working on a boat, making new friends & becoming a competent sailer is a very attractive prospect.

Growing up I was part of a sailing club in Devon & have spent a lot of time on boats since, so have some knowledge of sailing/boating. I love being at sea & it would be fantastic to spend more time doing so.

Will anyone be looking for crew members around September time, departing from New Zealand & heading to Samoa, Fiji, Tonga or any of the other pacific islands?

Or is there any other advice you can give me?

Thanks,
Fran x

Sent from my GT-S7275R using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Franny2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 23:33   #2

Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Thumbs up Re: Hello from New Zealand - advice?

Hello and welcome,

I doubt you'll find many sailors heading from NZ to the Pacific Is in September.
As we approach the end of the South Pacific cyclone season, sailors are preparing to leave for the islands end of April, May, early June.